Weekend links and dancing to James Brown

Weekend links and dancing to James Brown
My toddler isn’t really one to dance. He has friends who, just by hearing some music, will move their hips and shoulders while clapping their hands. My toddler—not so much. He’ll sometimes do his Flashdance “What a Feeling” foot shuffle and wave his arms when he sees people dancing to the Wii, but in general, he doesn’t really move to the beat.

All that changed a few weekends ago when my husband, toddler and I attended an art show… with a DJ. We were sitting on one of the couches when the DJ played a James Brown song. Well, apparently my toddler digs himself some funk because he sprung from that couch and started grooving on the floor, completely on his own. And it wasn’t just his Flashdance foot shuffle; he was moving arms, legs and hips!

A few days later, we were at home when I turned on some of his children’s songs and tried to initiate some dancing. And while he loves singing to them, he wasn’t in the least bit interested in dancing to Hokey Pokey. So I said, “Do you want me to play some James Brown?” And he replied, “James Brown!” And sure enough, once the music got down and funky, my toddler joined me on our dance floor. Suffice it to say I had James Brown on loop the rest of the day.

And while my toddler and I dance to some James Brown, below are a few reads I found this week:

  • First, The Wall Street Journal features a blog post discussing Women’s Success: At Work And At Home. The author takes a look at working women who choose to work and notice that most of them shoot for the top. Apparently they feel that if they don’t advance in their careers and that there’s no payoff to the hours they put in, that  they don’t see a point and will choose to be a stay-at-home mom instead.
  • Next up is a TED Talk video with babble.com publishers called Let’s talk parenting taboos which deliberates “…4 facts that parents never, ever admit — and why they should. Funny and honest, for parents and nonparents alike.” The highlight four taboos—not falling in love with your newborn at birth, feeling lonely after having a baby, talking about your miscarriage, and that your average happiness has declined since having a child. I actually have read somewhere that child-less couples tend to be happier than those with kids, but that the happiness of parents skyrockets as the children get older, particularly once they leave the house. Of course now I can’t remember where I heard that. Has anyone else heard of this?
  • And finally, The New York Times reveals A surprising risk for toddlers on playground slides. Apparently, kids sliding down sitting on a parent’s lap (instead of alone) increase their chances of injuring their legs. My kid doesn’t even like slides but I do remember taking him down on my lap once in a while. Who knew?

p.s. What did you think of this post? You can tell us on Facebook or Twitter.

5 thoughts on “Weekend links and dancing to James Brown

  1. Baguette loves Keb Mo–I started playing his music for her during tummy time, and she would perk right up. (For a moment. She hated tummy time. But that moment was more than I got with any other music.)

    And I read that NYT article about slides. I’ve gone down the slide a couple of times with Baguette, but she took to them so enthusiastically that it’s literally been a couple of times. I’m even more glad about that now.

  2. My kids love dancing, but their most likely to get up and rock to Party Anthem Rock, or Fire Burning then any of the silly songs they sing along to. I guess those kids songs just don’t have enough of a beat!

  3. Thanks for “liking” my blog! Enjoyed your article today and can relate to the dancing anecdote. I find my babies appreciate real music, not gimmicky children’s songs with hokey instrumentation. If I can’t stand it, why should I put them through that? Hence, they listen to and enjoy what my husband and I like. We also discovered our daughter loves jazz when her grandpa played some quality jazz while visiting. Who knew? Let’s give our kids some credit for good taste:-)

    • I’ve heard people challenging the article; supposedly the parents they studied weren’t paying attention as they were sliding down. And sometimes if a kid is completely hesitant, maybe sliding down with mom or dad is what they need to get over their fear.

      I can’t remember the last time I slid down with LO. He doesn’t even want to go down the slide, with or without me lol! I’d have to reassess the situation (how he’s feeling, the type of slide, etc.) to decide whether to slide down with him or not.

      What’s your take on it—would you still go down the slide?

Join the discussion:

