Taking a day off to be with my toddler

I decided to take a day off from work to spend time with my toddler, and what a fun day we had! In the morning, we went to story time at the library. Unfortunately the librarians weren’t too interesting; in fact they were comically awkward, with them just reading the words off the book in what seemed like the quietest whisper. One of them even had such a nasal-sounding voice! And the topic was about ice-skating; sorry but toddlers don’t really ice skate. Despite all that, LO was content to sit on my lap and play with some toys. He didn’t want to sit on the rug or stand and participate in the activities though.

My friend J and her little boy L (who is the same age as my toddler) also went to story time, so afterwards we all walked over to the playground next door. LO liked climbing up and down the stairs. He saw L jumping and I think it made him want to try jumping too. We’ll see when he gets to that point!

We got home and had lunch (chicken and dumplings) and LO took a nap. At first he didn’t even want to get into his toddler bed because he wanted to keep playing with his toys. Once it was 1pm though, I told him that he could keep playing with his toys, but that I would turn off the lights and leave. He almost didn’t believe me and probably thought I was bluffing, but I kept my word! 1pm rolled around and I turned off the lights and left the room. Of course he starts crying, “Mama! Read books!” I walk back in ten seconds later and he’s climbing into bed with books in his hands, haha! So we proceeded with reading and the the nap time routine, and he slept for 1.5 hours (yay!).

20120125-212057.jpg

After he woke up, we went to Lindberg park, one of his favorite parks because of all the toddler-friendly facilities they have there. I asked him, “Where do you want to go first?” And he replied right away, “Daddy hole, Mama hole, LO hole.” There’s this counter with a big hole, a medium hole and a little hole that he likes to push sand into. He stayed there for a very long time—I would guess an hour. Later he walked over to another jungle gym type of facility where he climbed steps, walked across a bridge, turned steering wheels and just had a ton of fun. We were at that park for two hours.

All of these places (story time, the first playground and the second playground) had a ton of kids. The second playground even had older kids who I guess are out of school in the afternoon. So there was a lot of commotion, a lot of running around and rough housing. He kept playing though. I wanted to expose him to kids so that he develops social skills and observes what other kids can do, particularly older ones (my friend J said that her son L started jumping, climbing ladders and hanging from bars because he would see older kids doing that at our park).

Join the discussion:

