Learning All the Time

I just finished a book by John Holt called Learning All the Time. The biggest point I got out of the book is that children are wired to learn; that learning isn’t an activity that’s set aside during school or when they’re reading. Learning is like breathing to kids. You don’t really tell someone, “That’s great breathing you’re doing!” (Well, I guess unless you’re doing yoga or something). Point is, we tend to take on the teacher role way too much, sometimes to the detriment and impediment of the child’s learning.

I have to remember not to take on the teacher role with LO, and instead be a guide. I catch myself sounding condescending, even if it’s well-meaning. Instead, I think he appreciates it when I find exciting things alongside him, and providing or finding info along with him.

One thought on “Learning All the Time

Join the discussion:

