Is working from home a good choice?

In short, yes. At least for me. But it doesn’t come without its cons.

I like the fact that I get to be with LO when other parents are still in the office away from their kids. What I don’t like is that I don’t get to focus 100% on him all the time. He’s pretty good about playing by himself and understands that I’m working, but I wonder if that affects him negatively, his mom not being 100% attentive.

The upside is that, since my schedule is flexible, I’m able to adjust my time so that I can focus 100% on him in between bouts of work. The biggest downside is that I’m always on call, and, should there be any emergencies or rush projects (like today), then it’s a juggling act between getting something done and having to put your child second.

LO spends half his waking time with his parents and the other half with his aunt. I’m thankful that it’s still one-on-one time he gets even when he’s not with us, but boy do I wish I could just be with him all the time. Maybe not all the time, but it would be nice to be able to pick and choose when I can drop him off and when I want to spend time with him.

Join the discussion:

