To all the moms

To my mom
Mother’s Day has always been a special day for me because of my relationship with my mom. Aside from my husband, she is my best friend and has always exemplified the kind of mother I knew I wanted to be: the kind of mom who loves her children without conditions (and with the five of us crazy characters, there have been plenty of conditions tested!). She is a wonderful person, and the fact that I get to have her as a mom really makes me a lucky girl.

I just re-read the previous paragraph, and I don’t think any of the things I just said even does her any justice, so let’s just say that she means the world to me, and I love her very much (I’m sure the other four characters can relate; it’s hard to put words to what that woman means to us).

To other moms
Before I was a mom I always knew that moms worked hard. I never denied or questioned it, but I don’t think any of that really sunk in until I finally crossed over into the Mom World. Everything they said is true! From the exhaustion to going to the grocery store in your bummiest clothes to never having any time… wow, they were not kidding!

Then you hear about the moms who have sick babies, or single moms who struggle doubly hard in this two-income society, or even moms who have lost their babies, and here I am exhausted to the bone with only one baby who has never been sick alongside a hands-on husband in a two-income household, and I just think, “How the heck do you do that?”

To me!
This being my first Mother’s Day, the holiday clearly has new meaning for me. I get it now. It truly is the most difficult job in the world. But it’s so worth it, isn’t it? They weren’t kidding about that part, either. And after a mere six months of motherhood, I am already proud to bear the title of Mom and join the ranks of other women who absolutely deserve to hear these three words:

Happy Mother’s Day!

One thought on “To all the moms

Join the discussion:

