How to introduce solid foods to your baby

I love making my baby his solids. And I love that he loves eating his solids. I found a book at the library called Petit Appetit and ended up buying a copy for myself. Every few days I introduce a new food to the little guy, and with the exception of broccoli (which I didn’t realize is a stage 2 food anyway), he eats them like a champ. Thus far, he’s had:

  • rice cereal
  • oatmeal cereal
  • sweet potatoes
  • asian pears
  • apples
  • avocados
  • prunes
  • zucchini
  • peas

I try to buy what’s in season at the farmers market, and if they’re not sold in the market, I buy them organic at the grocery. In a few days I’ll be mashing up some bananas, and after that, mangoes. Most of the food are steamed, sweet potatoes are baked, and prunes are boiled. Avocados (and bananas) aren’t even cooked at all. I freeze them in ice cube trays and, once frozen, pop them out and store in zip loc bags with their date.

So far we’ve been feeding him his grains in the morning and either a fruit or veggie at night. Once he turns six months, he can eat an even wider variety of food. We also plan to increase his meals to three times a day, adding a lunch in the middle.

Even though making baby food takes more time, this is one “chore” that I absolutely don’t mind doing.

One thought on “How to introduce solid foods to your baby

  1. Pingback: How to prepare homemade baby food | Sleeping Should Be Easy

Join the discussion:

