Sneaking in errands with a baby in tow

My boy is only awake for 1.5 to 2 hours at a time before he starts getting sleepy and cranky. So today rather than stay cooped up in the apartment, I resolved to get outside and run some errands during those brief awake moments.

The awake moments are shortened even further because within that time frame includes his eating, so there goes 15 to 20 minutes right there. And don’t forget about burping, which is another 5 to 10 minutes. So already I’m down to 1 to 1.5 hours.

Even still, this morning we were able to go to Target to buy a storage bin for his outgrown clothes. We had to be quick because he started getting fussy in line, and I couldn’t really dilly dally while pushing a stroller and an oversized bin as well.

After his next nap and eating, off we go to Gap and Express to buy me some clothes I had been looking up online. Gone are the days where I could just peruse a store. My new tactic is to look for clothes online first so that I know what I like and just try it on right away. This worked out pretty well. He got fussy in the middle and kept squirming. He was saying, “Get me out of this darn car seat already!” But I was able to walk out with the dress I liked.

I don’t think I’ll be running errands with LO anytime soon again, or at least just keep it to one outing a day.

Now he’s down again for his second nap (he tends to take three naps a day). I think this time when he wakes up, we’ll just hang out at home to read, cuddle and play!

Join the discussion:

