I heart prune juice

Last Friday we started giving him his first solids, rice cereal. He ate it like a champ, for four days. And for four days, he didn’t poop. Not even a shart! On my way home from my aunt’s, he was screaming a new kind of scream that said, “I am in PAIN! Get this out of me!” The pediatrician’s nurse recommended giving him 2 ounces of prune juice diluted with 1 ounce of water. I walked around our apartment building asking neighbors if they had any prune juice. No one did (maybe they just didn’t want to admit their own constipation woes?). Our kind neighbors next to us  offered to buy the juice for me though. I heart my neighbors too.

Prune juice

So while they’re off getting the juice, I put him down for a nap, and he’s out for a whopping 2 hours and 15 minutes! I think that is a record (not counting his newborn days when he couldn’t differentiate night from day). He wakes up and drinks the prune juice right away. Within the hour, he finally poops. Thankfully nothing hard or painful. I guess the prune juice is also a stool softener!

The next day, he poops with his dad in the morning. Then twice at my aunt’s. And once more with me at home. The boy was backed up! I’m so glad he’s not constipated anymore.

We were thinking of introducing oatmeal cereal last night, now that he was in the clear, but then he kept vomiting. He wasn’t in pain, but he was spitting up a LOT. So we’ll start the oatmeal tonight instead.

Wow, my second post is all about poop and vomit. Who wouldn’t want to follow along with this blog? This reminds me of when a friend of mine came over and I told her I had a picture of LO vomiting. She turned her head away like a normal person would, but being the crazy mom that I am, demanded, “What? You don’t want to see him with vomit? But it was so cute!”

4 thoughts on “I heart prune juice

  1. All right, if we’re gonna get all gastrointestinal so early in the blog, i’mma chime in that I bet baby oats are a great source dietary fiber and so hopefully won’t stop the boy up so much once he progresses to the next grain. I’m a steel-cut kinda gal myself, oats do a body good!

    • Hey Elizabeth! I’m a steel-cut fan too! I even have my own mix: boil it in half milk (or soy milk) and half water, 5 minutes on boil, 15 minutes on simmer, covered. Then two teaspoons of sugar. Yum! Yes, we take our oatmeal seriously around here.

  2. Pingback: I am the biggest hypocrite | Sleeping Should Be Easy

  3. Pingback: He’s 6 months! | Sleeping Should Be Easy

Join the discussion:

